Day 3

We took an off day today. Ya we’ve only been on the road for 2 days but you must remember that Taylor and I are not cyclists. We will surely bike ourselves into shape in the next couple of weeks but for the time being I think it’s important to pace ourselves and let our bodies recover properly. Taylor was ready to plunge away at another 50-60 miles today. I said, “slow down there young gun, pump your brakes a bit, trust in the Oso.” Plus, I woke up feeling a little under the weather and didn’t really want to push it. Not to mention, it was cold (35 – 40 degrees) and raining today. Also, Bethany opened our door around 8:00am and said, “hey guys, the hot tub is warm if you want to hop in.” I smiled, Taylor smiled, and with this cold front coming in we decided to stay one more night w/ the lovely Hunter family. Seriously, what a great family. Fantastic people and great hosts. These are going to be some of my most memorable moments of the entire trip. Ps. The hot tub was awesome! 

Anyways, todays rest served me very well. I’m feeling better, I went to the local supermarket and got some meds and I’m feeling quite a bit better. Hopefully I wake up feeling refreshed. I always tell Taylor that It’s a not a race, it’s a marathon. I live by this acronym: S.A.S – Slow and Steady. I shared this acronym with my buddy Tyler. He had a different translation for S.A.S though; Soft as sheets. I may or may not have had to alter his saying to keep things PG, but you all get the idea. Thanks Tyler!

Tomorrow we will be biking about 50 miles to Ichetucknee State Park where we will camp in freezing temperatures. Luckily, I got us some sleeping bags that should keep us warm in temperatures as low as 20 degrees. Plus, we have the “hubba hubba tent” (no joke) which is a cozy tent for two. Taylor doesn’t know this yet but I’m essentially a small furnace when i sleep. No fire will be needed tomorrow night as I will provide plenty of heat for the two of us in the hubba hubba. 

I’ll try and get some good video footage up on the blog in the next couple of days. 
Take care everyone!

– Oso

Ps. These next few days we will have limited access to internet and we will most likely be camping the next 2-3 days. However, once we get to Tallahassee we have a few host families willing to take us in. So if you see limited posts these next few days, fear not. It’s simply because we will have limited internet access. 

Leave a Reply

